Skip to content

Senior Contributor – Anthony Peake

Anthony Peake was a curious child. While his friends were reading Batman and Superman comics Anthony was immersing himself in learning of the most arcane nature (whilst still keeping an eye on the X-Men and Dr. Strange). It was in 1966, at the age of twelve that he, quite by accident, came across a copy of The Sky People by Brinsley Le Poer Trench and from then on there was no stopping him. The British part-series Man Myth and Magic was read with intense interest followed by the discovery of John Keel’s Project Trojan Horse and Jacques Vallee’s Passport to Magonia. What followed was a voracious, and unquenchable, need to know everything about everything.

At university he chose courses that would accommodate his wide interests, specialising in the sociology of religion, the theory of language development and the art of the Italian Renaissance. A post-graduate course in management lead Anthony away from his calling as a writer and into a career as a manager in various UK businesses. His interest in the esoteric continued with a growing fascination for quantum physics and neurology developing over the years.

It was in the year 2000 that his life was to change. A fortuitous set of circumstances allowed him to take a year sabbatical from his business career and he decided that he would focus the fruits of all his reading and research in writing a book. Exactly one year later he surfaced with the manuscript of his first book, then entitled Cheating the Ferryman. This book was a distillation of all his areas of interest, quantum physics, neurology, ancient myths, altered-states of consciousness and the mystery of death. However, it was to take five years before this work appeared in print. Thanks to the help of Professor Bruce Greyson of the University of Virginia, an article based upon Anthony’s Cheating the Ferryman hypothesis was to appear in the Winter 2004 edition of the Journal of Near-Death Studies, the academic periodical of the International Association of Near-Death Studies (IANDS). A few months later, in early 2005, British publishing house Arcturus bought the rights to the book and, a year later, and after a substantial re-write, Anthony’s first book, with the new title Is There Life After Death – The Extraordinary Science of What Happens When We Die was published. The rest, as they say, is history. This book has now sold over 60,000 copies world-wide and has been translated into various foreign language editions including Spanish, Russian and Polish. Indeed, Anthony has now had books published in every major European language.

Anthony has now written eight books, co-authored an ninth and co-edited a tenth. All of them develop his Cheating the Ferryman hypothesis into ever-wider areas of application. His approach has always been to apply science to the mysterious and the enigmatic.

His tenth book, a work on the the time plays and time-theories of British author-playwright J.B. Priestley, was published in 2018. In 2019 a sequel to his  book, Opening the Doors of Perception will be published. Also in 2018, an audio book of Anthony’s first work, Is There Life After Death – The Extraordinary Science of What Happens When We Die was released with Anthony reading his own writings.

Learn more about Anthony’s work

check out anthony peake's ground breaking books

Verified by ExactMetrics